Thanks For Letting Me Share
Breakfast with an Alcoholic
Breakfast with an Alcoholic: Episode XX
1
0:00
-17:26

Breakfast with an Alcoholic: Episode XX

Introducing Jane
1

Welcome to Episode XX of Breakfast with an Alcoholic!

I want what he’s got.

Surely, you remember Jane from Episode 9!

Thanks For Letting Me Share
Breakfast with an Alcoholic: Episode 9
Listen now (13 min) | I can’t wait for you to hear my breakfast with Jane! She’s a 22 year-old digital talent manager and has four months of sobriety. It takes a mountain of courage to walk into that first AA meeting, especially coming in at 22 and all alone. I think the story of Jane’s first AA meeting is really moving and so worth listening to. Her perspective on early so…
Read more

The big news is that Jane is going to start doing interviews on Breakfast with an Alcoholic and I’m very excited about that. In fact, I believe her debut effort will be Episode XXI.1 To the extent there was an idea behind this other than finding a way to more thoroughly insinuate pancakes into my life,2 it was to try and provide a set of more accessible and maybe light-hearted conversations about addiction and recovery and how we got sober. I think I have the middle-aged white guy perspective covered pretty well and thought bringing Jane to the mix would add a lot!

I’m not just asking for myself anymore.

Share

In our breakfast, we catch up, share some pet peeves about AA Meetings,3 and there’s even an Alcoholic Lightning Round practice session. I’ve known Jane for a little while and see her at meetings. What has impressed me from the very start was how evolved and thoughtful her views were, even though she had only a few months at the time. I’m still blown away when I think about what it took for her to walk down the stairs to the 79th Street Workshop alone on that January night Jane is one dynamic alcoholic and she’s already helping a lot of people. Pour yourself a cup of coffee and join us.4

Thanks for Letting Me Share

1

Trust me, I’m not going to switch over to Roman numerals, but it’s a cool look every once in a while. Also, I hope the podcast is already playing while you’re reading this.

2

To be really candid, my actual lifelong dream has been to be a game show host. I don’t know if you noticed, but I think adding the Alcoholic Lightning Round to the podcast might have checked that box.

3

We all have them.

4

Hopefully, you’ll connect this and laugh at the appropriate point of the podcast.

1 Comment
Thanks For Letting Me Share
Breakfast with an Alcoholic
Welcome to Breakfast with an Alcoholic! Pour yourself a cup of coffee while we discuss addiction, recovery, how we got sober and what life is like now. To be fair, we get sidetracked pretty often talking about 1970’s music or the Planet of the Apes movies or whatever—all from one of the Upper East Side’s finest diners. It’s a strictly BYOP affair...